skip navigation
Home Tournament Concierge Media Partners Store About

Jim Muhlfelder Award

The Jim Muhlfelder Award

Jim Muhlfelder

In 2003, the lacrosse world suddenly lost one of its classiest leaders, Jim Muhlfelder from DeBeer lacrosse. All who knew Jim recognized him for his outstanding personal qualitites. Jim loved the sport and relished being around other who shared his passion and enthusiasm. In his honor, the Jim Muhlfelder Award will be presented annually by the tournament staff to that tournament participant that best represents Jim's qualities of honesty, integrity and loyalty in the way he conducted both his business as the founding father of DeBeer Lacrosse and his personal life as a father, husband and friend.

2009 Winner - Perky Nellissen

Perky Nellissen was the 2009 Muhlfelder Award winner. Perky has been officiating Women's lacrosse since 1979. She received her first rating in Pennsylvania. Perky has held a national rating since 1992 and has worked NCAA's from teh late '80's thru 2006 when she worked the DIII finals. Perky has served on the National Umpiring Committee from 2001 - 2008, serving as the chair from 2004 - 2008. Perky works very hard with her 'Honor The Game' message to fellow officials, coaches and fans. Perky has officiated at numerous Summit tournaments.

Jim Muhlfelder Award Winners

  • 2009 - Perky Nellison
  • 2008 - Andi O'Connor
  • 2007 - Mike Onorato
  • 2006 - Rick Nelson
  • 2005 - Lynn Reitenbach
  • 2004 - Cater Ortolano